Lime tree

Tilia sp.

Malvaceae

The lime tree is one of the most used plants in infusion for its pleasant taste of honey which could almost make it forget its medicinal properties.

In nature, there are two species of linden:

The small-leaved linden, Tilia cordata Mill., with heart-shaped leaves of 5 to 7.5 cm and red hair in the axils of the veins.

And the large-leaved lime, Tilia platyphyllos Scop., whose leaves can reach 12 cm. Its flowers are less numerous, carried by bracts * larger (about ten centimeters) and very fragrant. It is the most sought after species.

The hybrid of the two species is called common lime, Tilia x europea L. It is frequently planted as a street tree because it is very resistant and adapts with many types of soils.

The linden tree is a slow growing tree. Its longevity can reach several hundred years, as the Bergheim linden in the upper Rhine, 700 years old. Its dimensions are sometimes impressive, up to 40 m of height and more than 10 meters in circumference.

In the Drôme Region, the oldest lime tree is the “Sully” in Saint Martin en Vercors, planted in 1597. Sully, the minister of finance under Henri IV, obtained from the latter an edict by which he was ordered to plant an abalone in the cemetery of all the parishes, in front of the main door of the church, where the assemblies of the community or the parish were held at the end of the Sunday mass. In Dauphiné, the elm was replaced by the linden tree. As a sign of gratitude, the inhabitants gave this tree the name of Sully.

In Drôme, each farm has its own linden tree, which brings a pleasant shade and dispenses its perfume at the beginning of summer. It is frequently found grafted with large-bract varieties, with its harvest being an interesting complementary income. Traditionally, it is the first production of the season before harvest, followed by nuts.

Today, picking is concentrated in only a few areas, notably in the Baronnies (Drôme Provençale). There are many varieties of linden, such as the Benivay. A true harvesting tradition persists and the region supplied up to 90% of national consumption in the early 1980s!

The international lime fair is held in the center of the Barronnies, in Buis les Baronnies, on the 3rd Saturday of July. Historically, it was during this fair that the rate of the lime tree was fixed for the season to come.

In herbalism, linden bracts are used to help cure sleep disorders, nervousness, and digestive spasms. It is also used as a calming and sedative, under the condition of respecting the doses, because the linden can prove to be exciting when taken in too much quantity. A saying illustrates this phenomenon: “A pinch soothes, a handful excites.”

It is also a softener and a sudorific ** used in winter diseases: cold, cough, flu. In cosmetics, it relieves inflammations of the skin.

The sapwood, the living part of the bark, is a depurative and a diuretic. It eliminates toxins from the body and prevents kidney stones, but it should not be used during an extended amount of time at the risk of over straining the kidneys (cure of ten to twenty days maximum).

Beauty infusion of linden

A simple infusion of linden is a pleasant lotion that gently cleans the skin, relieve irritations (from wind, sun, pollution). It also provides care to fragile and devitalized hair.

Prepare an infusion with the bracts at the rate of 10 to 20g per liter of water.

* The bract is a floral part that is located at the base of the inflorescence (or flower) and that surrounds the base of the peduncle.

** Which causes sweat.

Our ecological efforts
39 698 KM
Cycling kilometers
Produced electricity
547 519 kwh
Consumed electricity

Le tilleul

Tilia sp.

Malvaceae

Le tilleul fait partie des plantes les plus utilisées en infusion pour son goût agréable de miel qui en ferait presque oublier ses propriétés médicinales.

A l’état sauvage, il existe deux espèces de tilleul :
Le tilleul à petites feuilles, Tilia cordata Mill., aux feuilles de 5 à 7,5 cm, en forme de cœur, et portant des poils roux à l’aisselle des nervures.

Et le tilleul à grandes feuilles, Tilia platyphyllos Scop., dont les feuilles peuvent atteindre 12 cm. Ses fleurs sont moins nombreuses, portées par des bractées* plus grandes (une dizaine de centimètres)). et très parfumées. C’est l’espèce la plus recherchée.
L’hybride des deux espèces est appelé tilleul commun, Tilia x europea L. Il est fréquemment planté en arbre d’alignement car très résistant et s’adapte à de nombreux types de sols..

Le tilleul est un arbre à croissance lente. Sa longévité peut atteindre plusieurs centaines d’années, comme le tilleul de Bergheim dans le haut Rhin, âgé de 700 ans. Ses dimensions sont parfois impressionnantes, jusqu’à 40 m de hauteur et plus de 10 mètres de circonférence.

Dans la région, le plus ancien est le tilleul dit « de Sully » à Saint Martin en Vercors, planté en 1597. Sully, ministre de finances d’Henri IV, obtint de ce dernier un édit de par lequel il était ordonné de faire planter un ormeau dans le cimetière de toutes les paroisses, au-devant de la porte principale de l’église, là où se tiennent les assemblées de la communauté ou de la paroisse à l’issue de la messe du dimanche. En Dauphiné, l’orme fut remplacé par le tilleul. Par reconnaissance, les habitants donnèrent à cet arbre le nom de Sully.

Dans la Drôme, chaque ferme possède son tilleul, qui apporte une ombre agréable et dispense son parfum au début de l’été. On le trouve fréquemment greffé avec des variétés à grande bractées, la cueillette constituant un revenu complémentaire intéressant. Traditionnellement, c’est la première production de la saison avant les vendanges, suivie des noix.

Aujourd’hui, la cueillette se concentre dans quelques régions seulement, notamment dans les Baronnies (Drôme provençale). On y trouve de nombreuses variétés de tilleul, comme le Benivay. Une véritable tradition de cueillette y perdure et la région a fourni jusqu’à 90% de la consommation nationale au début des années 80 !

La foire internationale du tilleul se tient d’ailleurs au cœur des Barronnies, à Buis les Baronnies, le 3ième samedi de juillet. Historiquement, c’est durant cette foire que se fixait le cours du tilleul pour la saison.

En herboristerie, la bractée de tilleul est employée dans les troubles du sommeil, la nervosité, les spasmes digestifs. Il est aussi utilisé comme calmant et  sédatif, à conditions de respecter les doses, car le tilleul peut s’avérer excitant lorsqu’il est pris en trop grande quantité. Un dicton illustre ce phénomène : « Une pincée apaise, une poignée excite ».

C’est aussi un adoucissant et un sudorifique** utilisé dans les pathologies hivernales : refroidissement, toux, grippe. En cosmétique, il soulage les inflammations de la peau.

L’aubier, la partie vivante de l’écorce, est un dépuratif et un diurétique. Il élimine les toxines de l’organisme et prévient la formation de calcul dans les reins (la  « gravelle ») mais il ne faut pas l’employer de manière prolongée au risque de fatiguer les reins (cure de dix à vingt jours maximum)

Infusion de tilleul pour la beauté

Une simple infusion de tilleul constitue une lotion agréable pour nettoyer la peau en douceur, soulager les irritations (vent, soleil, pollution). C’est aussi un soin des cheveux fragiles et dévitalisés.

Pour cela préparer une infusion avec les bractées à raison de 10 à 20g par litre d’eau.

Notre effort écologique
39 698 KM
Kilomètres à vélo
électricité produite
547 519 kwh
électricité consommée