Marigold

Calendula officinalis L.

Compositae

Marigold is an annual plant originating from the Mediterranean basin, widely cultivated both as an ornamental plant and as a medicinal plant. In France, we have garden marigold, Calendula officinalis L., which can only be found cultivated, and fields marigold, Calendula arvensis L., which grows spontaneously in fields, wastelands and lawns, mainly in the South of the country.

Its Latin name, Calendula comes from the Latin word Calende, which means the first day of the month, as marigold can flower at every beginning of the month. Its flowering period can be quite extended and last throughout the whole year if the conditions are favorable.

What seems at first to be a flower is actually an inflorescence, a set of flowers, called flower head. This inflorescence is composed of central tubular flowers (the “heart”) and ligulated peripheral flowers (the “petals”). Ligulate flowers are used to add color and spice to dishes, especially with rice, which has earned them the name of bastard saffron. They have a slightly peppery taste.

Marigold’s medicinal use can be traced from long ago: the plant appears in the capitulary De Villis, a manuscript dating from the end of the 8th century or beginning of the 9th century which recommends the cultivation of a number of vegetable or medicinal species in the Royal gardens.

In this text, Marigold is mentionned under the name of solsequia, “which follows the sun”, because its flowers follow sunlight just like sunflowers (sunflower is an American species that was introduced in Europe only in the XVIth century).

Hildegarde de Bingen, important religious figure and herbalist from the 11th century, mentions the virtues of marigold for skin care in a recipe that seems far from our current habits: “a man whose head is” squamous “will detach the soft part of bacon, He will also remove the rind, throw the whole, and keep the hard part, which he will carefully crush in a mortar; He will smear his head and the scales will fall and his head will become beautiful again.”

Marigold is today widely used in natural cosmetics for its softening, healing, anti-inflammatory properties.

In the garden, marigold is cultivated easily and reseeds abundantly thanks to its three different types of seeds. The central seeds are achenes which are curled on themselves and fall at the foot of the plant, others carry hooks which allow them to cling to animals and the third kind of seeds, in the periphery, are spread out and shaped like a sail that allows them to be carried away by the wind.

These dissemination methods are called accordingly barochory, zoochory and anemochory

Calendula balm

Relief for irritated skin

Fill a jar of marigold flowers up to the top without packing them too much.
Pour olive oil until covering the plants and leave for three weeks.
Filter with a coffee filter.
In a bowl, pour 30 ml of this oil and add 5 grams of beeswax.
Heat in a water bath until the wax is melted, stir with a fork, then pour into a pot.
This can be used for the whole family except for those who are allergic to marigold or beeswax.
It can be used throughout the year.

Calendula officinalis
Calendula officinalis fruit
Our ecological efforts
39 698 KM
Cycling kilometers
Produced electricity
547 519 kwh
Consumed electricity

Le souci des jardins

Calendula officinalis L.

Compositae

Le souci est une espèce annuelle originaire du bassin méditerranéen, largement cultivée à la fois comme plante d’ornement et comme plante médicinale. En France, il existe le souci des jardins, Calendula officinalis L. qui ne s’observe qu’en culture, et le souci des champs, Calendula arvensis L. qui pousse spontanément dans les champs, les friches et les pelouses, essentiellement dans le sud du pays.

Son nom latin, Calendula vient du latin Calende, le premier jour du mois, car chaque début de mois le souci peut être en fleur. Il est vrai que sa floraison est très étalée et se poursuit toute l’année si les conditions sont favorables.

Ce qui semble à priori une fleur de souci est en fait une inflorescence, un ensemble de fleurs, appelée capitule. Cette inflorescence est composée de fleurs centrales tubulaires (le « cœur ») et des fleurs périphériques ligulées (les « pétales »). Les fleurs ligulées  sont employées pour colorer et épicer les plats, en particulier le riz, sous le nom de safran bâtard. Elles possèdent un goût légèrement poivré.

L’utilisation médicinale du souci est très ancienne : la plante apparait dans le capitulaire De Villis, un manuscrit datant de la fin du VIIIᵉ siècle ou début du IXᵉ siècle qui recommande la culture d’un certain nombre d’espèces potagères ou médicinales dans les jardins royaux.

Dans ce texte le souci apparait sous la désignation de solsequia, « qui suit le soleil », car les fleurs suivent la lumière du soleil à la manière des tournesols (le tournesol est une espèce américaine qui n’a été introduite en Europe qu’au XVIéme siècle).

Hildegarde de Bingen, religieuse et herboriste du 11e siècle, mentionne les vertus du souci pour le soin de la peau dans une recette qui paraît loin de nos habitudes actuelles : « un homme dont la tête est « squameuse » détachera la partie molle du lard, il détachera aussi la couenne, jettera le tout et gardera le dur qu’il pillera avec le souci dans un mortier ; il s’en enduira la tête et les squames tomberont et sa tête redeviendra belle ».

Le souci est aujourd’hui très employé dans les cosmétiques naturels pour ses propriétés adoucissante, cicatrisante, anti-inflammatoire.

Au jardin, le souci se cultive facilement et se ressème abondamment grâce à ses trois types de graines différentes. Les graines centrales sont des akènes recourbés sur eux-mêmes, qui tombent au pied de la plante, d’autres portent des crochets qui leur permettent de s’accrocher aux pelages des animaux. Les derniers, en périphérie, sont étalés et forment comme une voile qui leur permet d’être déplacés par le vent.

Dans l’ordre, on appelle ces modes de dissémination barochorie, zoochorie et anémochorie.

Baume au calendula

Placez dans un bocal des fleurs de souci jusqu’en haut sans trop les tasser.
Verser de l’huile d’olive jusqu’à recouvrir les plantes et laisser pendant trois semaines.
Filtrer avec un filtre à café.
Placer dans un bol 30 ml de cette huile avec 5 grammes de cire d’abeille.
Faire chauffer au bain-marie jusqu’à ce que la cire soit fondue, remuer avec une fourchette, puis verser dans un pot.

A utiliser pour toute la famille pour soulager les peaux irritées, sauf allergie au souci ou à la cire d’abeille.
A utiliser dans l’année.

Calendula officinalis
Calendula officinalis fruit
Notre effort écologique
39 698 KM
Kilomètres à vélo
électricité produite
547 519 kwh
électricité consommée