L’hibiscus

Hibiscus sabdariffa L.

Malvaceae

Hibiscus is a large perennial plant that can grow up to two meters tall and bears large pale yellow or pale pink flowers with a red-purple heart, whose fleshy calyx develops during fruiting.

It is probably native of Africa where it was domesticated 6,000 years ago in Sudan. It is now grown in all tropical areas of Asia, Africa or America. It is a species that knows many uses: food, craft and medicinal. Hibiscus is a source of income for many family farms, particularly in Africa. Few plants know as many uses as the hibiscus and we will discover some.

The leaf and young shoots are edible and have a slightly acidic taste which gives it the name of sorrel of guinea. Hibiscus leaf is an important leafy vegetable in the dry regions of West and Central Africa where it is usually eaten mixed with peanut or sesame paste. On the Nigerian plateau, fermented seeds are used to make pancakes under the name of “sorrel meat”.

The dried calices are used to prepare a tea much appreciated from Senegal to Egypt. Depending on the region, this refreshing infusion is called “karkade” or “bissap”. Its acidulous taste is due to the citric acid and vitamin C naturally present in the plant. The calices are also used in come in syrups, jellies and can serve as food coloring.

The oil extracted from the seeds is used in cooking, for example in Chad or Tanzania. It is also used in the manufacturing of soap, paints and cosmetics. The stem, which is rich in fiber, is used as jute to make ropes or bags. As for the marrow of the stem, it is used to make paper pulp.

Hibiscus is a medicinal plant widely used in traditional medicine: the calices have hypotensive and diuretic properties and the leaves contain mucilages (softening compounds) that are used for pharmaceutical and cosmetic purposes.

Hibiscus drink
(Mariam’s recipe)

Place 100g of flowers in a teapot *
Pour one liter of boiling water
Let infuse one hour
Filter with a coffee filter **
Sweeten with 3 tablespoons sugar, vanilla sugar, or honey for winter
Can be kept in the fridge for 10 days.

Drink during the day because this drink can prevent sleep if you are sensitive

* You can add other plants: mint, ginger …
**after infusion, the flowers can be eaten in a salad

Our ecological efforts
39 698 KM
Cycling kilometers
Produced electricity
547 519 kwh
Consumed electricity

L’hibiscus

Hibiscus sabdariffa L.

Malvaceae

L’hibiscus est une grande plante vivace qui peut atteindre deux mètres de haut et porte de grandes fleurs jaune pâle ou rose pâle à cœur rouge-violet, dont le calice charnu se développe pendant la fructification.

L’hibiscus est probablement originaire d’Afrique où il aurait été domestiqué il y a 6 000 ans au Soudan. Il est aujourd’hui cultivé dans toutes les zones tropicales d’Asie, d’Afrique ou d’Amérique. C’est une espèce qui connait de nombreuses utilisations : alimentaires, artisanales et médicinales. L’hibiscus constitue une source de revenus pour de nombreuses fermes familiales, en particulier en Afrique. Peu de plantes connaissent autant d’usages que l’hibiscus et nous allons en découvrir quelques-uns.

La feuille et les jeunes pousses sont comestibles et possèdent un goût légèrement acidulé qui lui vaut le nom d’oseille de guinée. La feuille d’hibiscus est un important légume-feuilles des régions sèches d’Afrique occidentale et centrale où elle se consomme généralement mélangée avec de la pâte d’arachide ou de sésame. Sur le plateau nigérian, les graines fermentées sont utilisées pour confectionner des galettes sous le nom de “viande d’oseille”.

Les calices séchés s’emploient pour préparer une tisane très appréciée du Sénégal à l’Egypte. Selon les régions, cette infusion rafraichissante est appelée “karkadé” ou « bissap ». Son goût acidulé est dû à l’acide citrique et à la vitamine C contenus naturellement dans la plante. Les calices entrent aussi dans la composition de sirops, de gelées et peuvent servir également de colorant alimentaire.

L’huile extraite des graines sert en cuisine, par exemple au Tchad ou en Tanzanie. Elle entre aussi dans la fabrication de savon, de peintures et de produits cosmétiques.  La tige, qui est riche en fibres, s’utilise comme le jute pour fabriquer de la corde ou des sacs. Quant à la moelle de la tige, elle est utilisée pour faire de la pâte à papier.

L’hibiscus est une plante médicinale très employée en médecine traditionnelle: les calices possèdent des propriétés hypotensives et diurétiques et les feuilles contiennent des mucilages (composés adoucissants) qui s’utilisent en pharmacie et en cosmétique.

Préparation de boisson à l’hibiscus
(Recette de Mariam)

Placer 100g de fleurs dans une théière*
Verser un litre d’eau bouillante
Laisser infuser une heure
Filtrer sur un filtre à café**
Sucrer avec 3 c à soupe de sucre, du sucre vanillé, ou de miel pour l’hiver

Se conserve 10 jours au frigo.
A boire en journée car cette boisson empêche de dormir si on est sensible

* Vous pouvez ajouter d’autres plantes : menthe, gingembre …
**Après l’infusion les fleurs peuvent être ajoutées à la salade

Notre effort écologique
39 698 KM
Kilomètres à vélo
électricité produite
547 519 kwh
électricité consommée