Lavender

Lavandula angustifolia Mill.

Lamiaceae

Lavender, the emblem of Drôme, offers the season’s first tourists fragrant fields of unique violet colors. But which lavender are we talking about?

Lavandula angustifolia Mill, known as True Lavender, grows naturally in the mountains and hills of the Southern Alps, while Aspic Lavender, Lavandula latifolia Medik, is mainly found in the plains and low-lying areas of Provence. And finally the lavandin, Lavandula x intermedia Emeric ex Loisel, which is often confused with officinal lavender, because of its full tufts and its branched flowering stems that are more adapted to its cultivation at low altitude. Lavandin is a hybrid of the True lavender and Lavender Aspic, giving it the characteristics of both parents.

Our Officinal lavender is a mountain plant: its quality improves with the altitude it grows at, and it is called fine lavender when it is harvested or grown at more than 800 m altitude. It naturally grows in the Drôme until the mountains, where it sometimes grows alongside the spring Gentians!

Much of the crop is distilled to give essential oil. It is the only essential oil that has a PDO in France, “Lavande de haute Provence” which includes the Drôme, Alpes de Haute Provence, Hautes Alpes, and Vaucluse. Like wines, aromatic plants have their own “terroirs”. Our sunny and windy mountains as well as the men and women who perpetuate the tradition of lavender are all elements that make this essential oil an exceptional product.

But the sector is in danger today because lavender is the victim of diseases and parasites. New, more resistant varieties are selected, especially for organic farming.

So let’s hope that we will continue to admire the purple fields which are the jewels of our landscapes…

Lavender is considered by many to be a panacea, a cure for all ailments. What do the traditions and modern sciences and researches have to say about that? It is a sedative, light sedative, spasmolytic … properties very useful to fight against stress in our society! In external use it is healing and anti-inflammatory, widely used in cosmetics.

Lavender vinegar

Place 15 to 20 stems of lavender in a bottle of white vinegar.
Leave to macerate for one week then filter with a coffee filter and store in opaque bottles or tinted glass.
You have just made a natural product with many uses.

Dilute to 5% (3 tablespoons to about 1 liter) and use as a rinsing liquid: it prevents dandruff, removes lice and reduces blackheads and acne pimples.

In domestic use, one glass added in the machine perfumes your clothes and avoids tartar. Diluted in a bucket of water, vinegar removes grease from floors, windows, working surfaces…

It is up to you to invent other uses!

Other commonly used lavender

In addition to lavender aspic and lavandin, another species are found on the granite zones of the Mediterranean coast (Massif des Maures, Corsica), butterfly lavender, Lavandula stoechas L.

Our ecological efforts
39 698 KM
Cycling kilometers
Produced electricity
547 519 kwh
Consumed electricity

La lavande officinale

Lavandula angustifolia Mill.

Lamiaceae

La lavande, cet emblème de la Drôme, offre aux premiers vacanciers de la saison des champs parfumés et d’un violet incomparable. Mais de quelle lavande parle-t-on ?

Car il existe plusieurs espèces de lavandes, la lavande officinale, Lavandula angustifolia Mill., dite lavande vraie, qui se rencontre naturellement dans les montagnes et les collines du sud des Alpes, la lavande aspic, Lavandula latifolia Medik, qui pousse surtout dans les plaines et les zones peu élevées de la Provence. Et enfin le lavandin, Lavandula x intermedia Emeric ex Loisel. souvent confondu avec la lavande officinale, aux touffes plus fournies et aux tiges fleuries ramifiées, qui supporte mieux la culture à basse altitude car c’est un hybride de la lavande vraie et de la lavande aspic, ce qui lui confère les caractéristiques des deux parents.

Notre lavande officinale est une plante de montagne, elle profite même de l’altitude pour bonifier et on l’appelle lavande fine lorsqu’elle est récoltée ou cultivée à plus de 800 m d’altitude. Elle pousse naturellement dans la Drôme jusqu’en montagne, où elle côtoie parfois les gentianes printanières !

Une grande partie de la récolte est distillée pour donner de l’huile essentielle. C’est la seule huile essentielle qui possède une AOP en France, Lavande de haute Provence qui regroupe la Drôme, les Alpes de Haute Provence, les Hautes Alpes, et le Vaucluse. Car comme les vins, les plantes aromatiques ont leurs terroirs. Nos montagnes ensoleillées et ventées mais aussi les hommes et les femmes qui perpétuent la tradition de la lavande sont autant d’éléments qui font de cette huile essentielle un produit d’exception.

Mais la filière est aujourd’hui en péril car la lavande est victime de maladies et de parasites. De nouvelles variétés plus résistantes sont sélectionnées, en particulier pour l’agriculture biologique.

Alors espérons que nous pourrons longtemps admirer les champs violets qui sont les joyaux de nos paysages.

La lavande est considérée par beaucoup comme une panacée, un remède à tous les maux. Alors qu’en est-il à la lumière de la tradition mais aussi de la science et des recherches modernes. C’est un calmant, sédatif léger, spasmolytique … des propriétés bien utiles pour lutter contre le stress de notre société ! En usage externe c’est un cicatrisant et anti-inflammatoire, largement utilisé en cosmétique.

Le vinaigre de lavande

Placer dans une bouteille de vinaigre blanc  15 à 20 tiges de lavande.
Laisser macérer une semaine puis filtrer sur un filtre à café et conserver dans des bouteilles opaques ou en verre teinté.
Vous avez fabriqué un produit naturel aux nombreuses utilisations.

Diluer à 5 % (3 cuillères à soupe pour un litre environ) et utiliser en rinçage, il permet de combattre les pellicules, d’éloigner les poux ou de réduire les points noirs et les boutons d’acné.

En usage ménager un verre ajouté dans la machine parfume le linge et évite le tartre. Dilué dans une bassin d’eau, le vinaigre dégraisse le sol, les vitres, les plans de travail …
A vous d’inventer d’autres utilisations !

Autres lavandes couramment utilisées

Outre la lavande aspic et le lavandin, déjà cités, une autre espèce se rencontre sur les zones granitiques du bord de la méditerranée (Massif des maures, Corse), la lavande papillon, Lavandula stoechas L.

Notre effort écologique
39 698 KM
Kilomètres à vélo
électricité produite
547 519 kwh
électricité consommée