Clove

Syzygium aromaticum (L.) Merr. & L.M.Perry

Myrtaceae

The clove tree is an evergreen tree of 10 to 15 m, native of the archipelago of the Moluccas in Indonesia. It bears many cream-colored flowers, which turn red during the flowering process.

Clove is obtained by drying the flower buds in the sun (the flowers are harvested before full blooming). It is a spice that has a triple interest: it aromatizes, facilitates digestion and allows better food preservation. Cloves are used in many spice blends such as “ras al-hanout” from North Africa, “5 perfumes” from China or “garam massala” from India.

Clove is now common in our kitchens but its use has long been considered as a manifestation of luxury and it fanned many greed.

In the Middle Ages, Europeans do not know where cloves come from and many tales are told on the subject: it was said that on an island near India, sailors would trade with forest genies depositing goods on a cost  and finding cloves in exchange the following day.

In 1424, the Portuguese discovered the Maluku Islands, the only place at the time where cloves were grown. They take possession of the archipelago and establish a lucrative monopoly on clove. In 1605 it was the Dutch who supplanted them and took possession of the archipelago. The Dutch East India Company limits the cultivation of the clove tree to the only island of Amboine. Here is the double goal: to reduce production in order to increase prices and to avoid smuggling.

The destruction of clove trees on the island of Ternate causes the appearance of numerous epidemics in indigenous populations, probably protected until now by the presence of this powerful natural antiseptic.

In 1770, the French Pierre Poivre managed to steal clove plants to acclimatize on the island of France (now called Mauritius), of which he was governor. This is the end of the monopoly on this spice, which then spreads around the world: French Guiana, Madagascar, Zanzibar, Caribbean, Brazil.

The smell of cloves can remind us of many dentists’ offices because eugenol, the major component of clove oil, is a powerful local anesthetic and antiseptic still used today in the composition of certain dental cements.

In just a couple of chemistry processes, eugenol can be transformed into synthetic vanillin (vanilla flavor), the cost of which is 300 times lower than natural vanillin.

Here is a winter recipe, to consume with moderation.

Mulled wine with spices
1.5 liters of red wine
100 to 250 g of brown sugar
1 lemon zest
1 orange zest
2 cinnamon sticks
2 star anise
2 cloves
1 piece of minced ginger
1 nutmeg grated with a knife tip
1 orange
Place all ingredients in a large saucepan
Bring to a gentle boil and simmer for 5 minutes
Serve hot by filtering with a strainer

Our ecological efforts
39 698 KM
Cycling kilometers
Produced electricity
547 519 kwh
Consumed electricity

Le giroflier

Syzygium aromaticum (L.) Merr. & L.M.Perry

Myrtaceae

Le giroflier est un arbre à feuillage persistant de 10 à 15 m, natif de l’archipel des Moluques en Indonésie. Il porte de nombreuses fleurs de couleur crème, virant au rouge pendant la floraison.

Le clou de girofle est obtenu en séchant au soleil les boutons floraux (fleur récoltée avant épanouissement). C’est une épice qui possède un triple intérêt : elle aromatise, facilite la digestion et permet une meilleure conservation des aliments. Le girofle entre dans la composition de nombreux mélanges d’épices comme le « ras al-hanout » du nord de l’Afrique, le « 5 parfums » chinois ou le « garam massala » d’Inde.

Le clou de girofle est aujourd’hui commun dans nos cuisines mais son usage a été longtemps considéré comme une manifestation du luxe et il attisa bien des convoitises.

Au Moyen Âge, les européens ignorent d’où vient le girofle et de nombreuses fables circulent à ce sujet : on racontait que sur une île proche de l’Inde, les marins commerçaient avec les génies de la forêt, déposant des marchandises sur le bord de mer et retrouvant le lendemain des clous de girofle à leur place.

Au 1424, les Portugais découvrent les îles Moluques, alors unique lieu de production du girofle. Ils prennent possession de l’archipel et instaurent un lucratif monopole sur le clou de girofle. En 1605, ce sont les Hollandais qui les supplantent et prennent possession de l’archipel. La Compagnie néerlandaise des Indes orientales limite la culture du giroflier à la seule île d’Amboine. Le but est double : diminuer la production pour augmenter les prix et éviter la contrebande.
La destruction des girofliers sur l’île de Ternate provoque l’apparition de nombreuses épidémies dans les populations autochtones, sans doute protégées jusque-là par la présence de ce puissant antiseptique naturel.

En 1770, Le français Pierre Poivre réussit à dérober des plants de girofliers pour les acclimater sur l’île de France (aujourd’hui l’île Maurice), dont il était gouverneur. C’est la fin du monopole sur cette épice, qui est ensuite acclimatée dans le monde entier : Guyane française, Madagascar, Zanzibar, Caraïbes, Brésil.

L’odeur du girofle rappelle à beaucoup le cabinet du dentiste car l’eugénol, le composant majoritaire de l’huile essentielle de girofle, est un puissant anesthésique local et antiseptique utilisé encore aujourd’hui dans la composition de certains ciments dentaires. En quelques étapes de chimie, l’eugénol peut être transformé en vanilline de synthèse (arôme de vanille), dont le prix de revient est 300 fois moins élevé que la vanilline naturelle.

Voici une recette pour l’hiver, à consommer avec modération.

Vin chaud

1.5 l de vin rouge
100 à 250 g de sucre roux
1 zeste de citron
1 zeste d’orange
2 bâtons de cannelle
2 badianes (anis étoilé)
2 clous de girofle
1 morceau de gingembre émincé
1 pointe de couteau de noix muscade râpée
1 orange coupée en rondelle

Placer tous les ingrédients dans une grande casserole
Porter doucement à ébullition et laisser frémir pendant 5 minutes
Servir chaud en filtrant avec une passoire

Notre effort écologique
39 698 KM
Kilomètres à vélo
électricité produite
547 519 kwh
électricité consommée