Ashwagandha

Withania somnifera (L.) Dunal

Solanaceae

Ashwagandha is a shrub native to Asia where it grows in the arid regions of India, Pakistan or Sri Lanka. It has fruits similar to small tomatoes and a tuberous root, which is the most active part of the plant.

It is one of the main plants of Ayurveda, traditional medicine and very ancient philosophy, which has its roots in India more than 5000 years ago. In the Sanskrit language “ayur” means life, and veda “knowledge”.

This system of health considers living organisms to be composed of five elements (water, earth, fire, air and ether) that combine to give three “biological forces” called doshas: VATA (ether + air), PITTA (Water), KAPHA (water + soil). Each individual is born with a proper proportion of each dosha. To live in good health with this basic constitution, this medicine advocates choosing foods, activities and plants that are the opposite of the dominant doshas.

The plants used in Ayurveda are thus listed according to their action on these biological forces. The ashwagandha is known to appease Vata and Kapha but in excess it will increase Pitta.

Its name in Sanskrit means “who smells like a horse”, not in reference to its perfume but in its power to give the strength of a horse. It is sometimes called Indian ginseng, in view of its immune stimulant properties. It allows the body to better cope with stress, fatigue, or changes in rhythms. This action is coupled with a soothing and enhancing sleep.

It is also an antioxidant, an anti-inflammatory and a stimulant of the memory, which confers to the ashwagandha a global action of fighting against aging. Ashwagandha is used in natural cosmetics, in particular in anti-aging creams because it promotes skin regeneration and protects the skin from aggressions thanks to its antioxidant power.

Recent studies have demonstrated an anti-tumor activity of the plant, in addition to conventional therapies which opens yet other uses to this plant that has been used for hundreds of years!

In the garden of the Herbier du Diois, we grow Ashwagandha in order to study it. It grows there as an annual plant because it cannot stand freezing. It easily produces fruit in one season, which allows us to harvest seeds for the following year.
These seeds join our seminum index, which allows exchanges with other botanical gardens

Our ecological efforts
39 698 KM
Cycling kilometers this year
Produced electricity this year
547 519 kwh
Consumed electricity this year

Ashwagandha

Withania somnifera (L.) Dunal

Solanaceae

L’ashwagandha est un arbuste originaire d’Asie où il pousse dans les régions arides de l’Inde, du Pakistan ou encore du Sri Lanka. Il possède des fruits semblables à des petites tomates et une racine tubéreuse, qui est la partie la plus active de la plante.

C’est une des principales plantes de l’Ayurveda, médecine traditionnelle et philosophie très ancienne, qui prend ses racines en Inde il y a plus de 5000 ans. En langue sanskrit « ayur » signifie vie, et veda « connaissance ».

Ce système de santé considère que  les organismes vivants sont composés de cinq éléments (eau, terre, feu, air et éther) qui se combinent pour donner trois « forces biologiques » appelées les doshas : VATA (ether + air), PITTA (feu + eau), KAPHA (eau + terre). Chaque individu naît avec une proportion propre de chaque dosha. Pour vivre en bonne santé avec cette constitution de base, cette médecine préconise de choisir des aliments, des activités et des plantes qui sont à l’opposé des doshas prédominant.
Les plantes utilisées en ayurvéda sont ainsi répertoriées en fonction de leur action sur ces forces biologiques. L’ashwagandha est reconnu pour apaiser Vata et Kapha mais en excès, il va augmenter Pitta.

Son nom en sanskrit signifie « qui à l’odeur du cheval », non pas en référence à son parfum mais à son pouvoir de donner la force d’un cheval. Il est parfois appelé ginseng indien, au regard de ses propriétés de stimulant immunitaire. Il permet à l’organisme de mieux affronter l’effort, la fatigue, le stress, ou les changements de rythmes. Cette action est doublée d’une action apaisante et améliorante du sommeil.

C’est aussi un antioxydant, un antiinflammatoire et un stimulant de la mémoire, ce qui confère à l’ashwagandha une action globale de lutte contre le vieillissement.L’ashwagandha est utilisé en cosmétique naturelle, en particulier dans les crèmes anti-âge car il favorise la régénération cutanée et protège la peau des agressions en raison de son pouvoir antioxydant.

Des études récentes ont démontré une activité anti tumorale de la plante, en complément des thérapies classiques ce qui ouvre encore d’autres utilisations à cette plante déjà employée depuis des centaines d’années !

Au jardin de l’herbier du Diois, nous cultivons l’ashwagandha afin de l’étudier. Il y pousse comme une plante annuelle, car il ne supporte pas le gel. Il produit facilement des fruits en une saison, ce qui nous permet de récolter des graines pour l’année suivante. Ces graines rejoignent notre index seminum, qui permet les échanges avec d’autres jardins botaniques

Notre effort écologique
39 698 KM
Kilomètres à vélo
électricité produite
547 519 kwh
électricité consommée