Ginkgo Tree

Ginkgo biloba L.

Ginkgoaceae

At the beginning of winter, the ginkgo tree is adorned with a beautiful yellow color which attracts our gaze to this mythical species, symbol of longevity.

It is first of all a survivor of History, the only representative of a botanical family, the ginkgoaceae, contemporary of dinosaurs, 70 million years ago.

The first mention of ginkgo is from the 17th century: European botanists described the only species they found cultivated in Japan and China, especially near the temples. It won’t be found in the wilderness before 1956, in a few unnaccessible forests of the Yang-Tse Valley.

It is also a tree that survives the passage of time and can exceed 1000 years quite easily! In the Tianmu Shan Natural Reserve (China), of the 224 ginkgos listed, nearly 10% are a few thousand years old and the oldest is 3000 years old!

The tree arrived in Europe with a few seeds brought back from Asia by a German botanist. It was first grown in Holland and then in other countries.

In France, the first ginkgo is planted in the plant garden of Montpellier in 1778, where it is still standing.

Another proof of its incredible resistance: a tree located only 1km from the impact of the Hiroshima bomb was burned completely before having re-shoots the following year! Ginkgo is frequently planted in the city because it is also very resistant to pollution.

This longevity is expressed in the medicinal properties of its leaves. Active ginkgo compounds stimulate brain microcirculation and protect the body from free radicals that accelerate cellular aging. It is also known to improve venous circulation and protects against the risk of blood clot formation, by thinning the blood.

This medicinal tree is used to reduce the symptoms of Alzheimer’s disease and treat circulatory disorders, especially related to age, as well as tinnitus and vertigo of vascular origin. WHO recognized ginkgo as an adjuvant for the treatment of dementia of vascular or degenerative origin.

In China, ginkgo is mentioned in 2600 B.C. for the nucleus of its fruit used to treat asthma and bronchitis. The fruit’s flesh, which has a nauseating odor is poisonous.

In Herbier-du-Diois, we dose the Ginkgo leaves in order to guarantee the activity and the safety of the plant: dosage of the terpene lactones and the glycosides of flavonols (active molecules) Ginkgolic acid (which presents a risk of allergy).

Caution: ginkgo may interact with anticoagulants (AVK, aspirin) and increase the risk of bleeding. Its use in these cases must be done under medical supervision.

Our ecological efforts
39 698 KM
Cycling kilometers this year
Produced electricity this year
547 519 kwh
Consumed electricity this year

Le  ginkgo

Ginkgo biloba L.

Ginkgoaceae

A l’entrée de l’hiver, le ginkgo se pare d’une magnifique couleur jaune et attire notre regard sur cette espèce mythique, symbole de longévité.

C’est tout d’abord un rescapé de l’histoire, seul représentant d’une famille botanique, les ginkgoaceae, contemporaine des dinosaures, il y a 70 millions d’années.

La première mention du ginkgo date du 17ème siècle : des botanistes européens décrivent l’espèce qu’ils trouvent uniquement cultivé au Japon et en Chine, en particulier à proximité des temples. Il ne sera retrouvé qu’en 1956 à l’état naturel, dans quelques forêts peu accessibles de la vallée du Yang-Tsé.

C’est aussi un arbre qui survit au passage du temps, pouvant dépasser 1000 ans assez facilement et ce, même à l’état sauvage ! Dans la réserve naturelle du Tianmu shan (Chine), sur les 224 ginkgos recensés près de 10% sont millénaires et le plus ancien serait âgé de 3000 ans !

L’arbre arrive en Europe par quelques graines ramenée d’Asie par un botaniste allemand. Il est d’abord cultivé en Hollande puis dans d’autres pays.

En France, le premier ginkgo est planté au jardin des plantes de Montpellier en 1778, où il est toujours visible.
Autre preuve de son incroyable résistance : un arbre situé à seulement 1km de l’impact de la bombe d’Hiroshima fut entièrement brulé, avant de refaire des pousses l’année suivante ! Le ginkgo est fréquemment planté en ville car il résiste aussi très bien à la pollution.

Cette longévité s’exprime dans les propriétés médicinales de ces feuilles. Les composés actifs du ginkgo stimulent la microcirculation cérébrale et protège l’organisme des radicaux libres qui accélèrent le vieillissement cellulaire. Il est également connu pour améliorer la circulation veineuse et protéger des risques de formation de caillots sanguins, en fluidifiant le sang.

Cet arbre médicinal est utilisé pour réduire les symptômes de la maladie d’Alzheimer et traiter les troubles de la circulation, notamment liés à l’âge, ainsi que les acouphènes et les vertiges d’origine vasculaire. L’OMS a reconnu le ginkgo comme adjuvant de traitement de la démence d’origine vasculaire ou dégénérative.

En Chine, le ginkgo est cité 2600 ans avant notre ère, pour le noyau de son fruit employé pour traiter l’asthme et la bronchite. La chair du fruit à l’odeur nauséabonde est toxique.

A l’Herbier-du-Diois, nous effectuons des dosages sur les feuilles de Ginkgo afin de garantir l’activité et l’innocuité de la plante : dosage des lactones terpéniques et des glycosides de flavonols (molécules actives) et recherche de l’acide ginkgolique (qui présente un risque d’allergie).

Attention le ginkgo peut interagir avec les anticoagulants (AVK, aspirine) et majorer le risque de saignements. Son utilisation dans ces cas doit se faire sous contrôle médical.

Notre effort écologique
39 698 KM
Kilomètres à vélo
électricité produite
547 519 kwh
électricité consommée