Ironwort (Shepherd’s tea)

Sideritis scardica Griseb.

Lamiaceae

The genus name Sideritis comes from the Greek Sideros, meaning iron. There could be a double etymological meaning.
In ancient medicine, sideritis was a generic reference for plants capable of healing wounds made from iron guns during battles. The other explanation could be linked to the richness of the plant: 200 mg of iron / kg, which is 6 times more than the amount found in lentils for example.

There are 150 species of Sideritis, which are essentially perennial aromatic plants, originating from the Mediterranean basin. The species have been known since ancient times as medicinal plants and are very popular in Greece, Bulgaria and Albania.

They are called “shepherds” because they are mountain plants traditionally picked by shepherds who guard their herds.

In Greece, 4 types of Ironwort are harvested:

  • Sideritis perfoliata: Ironwort from Mount Athos and Pindos
  • Sideritis raeseri: the most eaten and cultivated species in Greece.
  • Sideritis syriaca: also called Malotira, endemic of Crete
  • Sideritis scardica: Ironwort of Mount Olympus.

The latter is present in the mountains of central and northern Greece. It has an important place in traditional medicine, to facilitate digestion, stimulate the circulatory or immune system and relieve colds.For external use, the plant is used to treat wounds.

In addition to these long-standing properties, modern researches have confirmed that Ironwort is a medicinal plant of great interest in other areas, such as preventing osteoporosis or relieving mood disorders: depression or ADHD (attention deficit disorder with or without hyperactivity).

Ironwort contains polyphenols and flavonoids, natural compounds that act to prevent cardiovascular disease.Its antioxidant power is equivalent to green tea, having the advantage of not containing caffeine (theine). This action is beneficial in degenerative diseases (Alzheimer’s) or for fighting cellular aging.

Ironwort of Mount Olympus is today threatened by wild gathering.In the past, the plant was so abundant in some areas that you could harvest the plant using a scythe, while only a few feet remain today. The only important populations are located in the most inaccessible places.Fortunately, farmers are now cultivating this plant, guaranteeing a supply of quality (growing organically in the mountains) and respectful of the natural resource. Here is a sustainable solution to enjoy the benefits of herbal tea.

The only thing left to do now is to infuse a tablespoon of this plant in quivering water to discover its intense aroma and complex notes of lemon, spices and softwood, particularly sweet and round in the mouth.

Our ecological efforts
39 698 KM
Cycling kilometers
Produced electricity
547 519 kwh
Consumed electricity

Le thé des bergers

Sideritis scardica Griseb.

Lamiaceae

Le nom de genre Sideritis vient du Grec Sideros, le fer. La signification étymologique pourrait être double.
Dans la médecine antique, Sideritis était une référence générique pour les plantes capables de guérir les blessures causées par les armes de fer pendant  les batailles. L’autre explication serait la richesse en fer de la plante : 200 mg/kg soit 6 fois plus que les lentilles par exemple.

Il existe 150 espèces de Sideritis, qui sont essentiellement des plantes vivaces aromatiques, originaires du bassin méditerranéen. Plusieurs espèces sont connues depuis l’ Antiquité comme plantes médicinales et sont très populaires en Grèce, en Bulgarie et en Albanie.
Elles sont appelées « thés des bergers » car il s’agit de plantes de montagnes cueillies traditionnellement par les bergers qui gardent les troupeaux.

En Grèce, 4  thés des bergers sont récoltés :

  • Sideritis perfoliata : le thé des bergers du Mont Athos et Pindos
  • Sideritis raeseri : le plus consommé et cultivé en Grèce.
  • Sideritis syriaca : appelé aussi Malotira, endémique de Crète
  • Sideritis scardica : le thé des bergers du Mont Olympe.

Ce dernier est présent dans les montagnes du centre et du Nord de la Grèce. Il a une place importante dans la médecine traditionnelle, pour faciliter la digestion, stimuler le système circulatoire ou immunitaire et soulager les refroidissements. En usage externe, la plante est utilisée pour soigner les plaies et les blessures.

En complément de ces propriétés connues de longue date, les recherches modernes ont confirmé que le thé des bergers est une plante médicinale de grand intérêt dans d’autres domaines, comme la prévention de l’ostéoporose ou pour soulager les troubles de l’humeur : dépression ou TDAH (trouble de déficit de l’attention avec ou sans hyperactivité).
Le thé des bergers contient des polyphénols et flavonoïdes, des composés naturels qui agissent en prévention des maladies cardio-vasculaires.

Son pouvoir antioxydant est équivalent au thé vert, en ayant l’avantage de ne pas contenir de caféine (théine). Cette action est bénéfique dans les maladies dégénératives (Alzheimer) ou dans la lutte contre le vieillissement cellulaire.

Le thé des bergers du Mont Olympe est aujourd’hui menacé par la cueillette sauvage.
Autrefois, la plante était si abondante dans certaines zones, que la récolte se faisait à la faux, alors qu’il n’en subsiste que quelques pieds aujourd’hui. Les seules populations importantes sont situées dans les endroits les plus inaccessibles.

Fort heureusement, des producteurs cultivent désormais cette plante, garantissant un approvisionnement de qualité (culture en montagne et en agriculture biologique) et respectueux de la ressource naturelle. Voici une solution durable pour profiter des bienfaits du thé des bergers.

Il ne reste plus qu’à infuser une cuillère à soupe de cette plante dans une eau frémissante pour découvrir un arôme intense et complexe aux notes de citron, d’épices et de résineux, particulièrement doux et rond en bouche.

Notre effort écologique
39 698 KM
Kilomètres à vélo
électricité produite
547 519 kwh
électricité consommée