Marshmallow

Althaea officinalis L.

Malvaceae

The marshmallow is a downy perennial plant that can reach 1.5 meters in height and offer many pink flowers in the summer. Native to France, it is most often found in the tall grasses on the Atlantic side, often close to the sea.

The marshmallow belongs to the botanical family Malvaceae.  The name comes from the ancient Greek malássô, which means “to soften.”  This is particularly appropriate for the marshmallow, which contains a good deal of mucilage* – a component that forms an emollient, anti-inflammatory gel when in contact with water.

The medicinal qualities of the marshmallow have been known since antiquity, as we can see from its genus name Althea, which is derived from the Greek althaïnô, meaning “to heal.”
Theophrastus, an ancient Greek philosopher and botanist, was among the first to site the marshmallow as a cough remedy when prepared in sweetened wine.  The flower is one of what the French call “pectoral” species, plants prescribed for pulmonary issues, along with common mallow, poppy, catsfoot, coltsfoot, and violet.  This recipe was registered in the pharmacopeia until 1965.

The marshmallow’s mucilage also gives it its healing and softening properties.  It is used for calming irritated stomachs, healing wounds and stings, or soothing itches.
The root, peeled and dried, is also traditionally used to relieve teething pain.  The plant’s mucilage becomes a soothing gel when put in contact with saliva, helping to ease toothaches for infants who chew on the marshmallow “rattles.”

But in the Middle Ages, there was another, more sordid use for the properties of marshmallow.  A form of judgement called trial by ordeal could be performed using a red-hot iron, or ferrum candens. The accused had to walk nine paces holding a hot iron bar**.  Their hands were then bandaged in a leather bag that was sealed by the judge.  To see if the accused was innocent or guilty, they opened the bag after three days to inspect the evolution of the wound.  A “beautiful,” or well-healed wound proved innocence, as God had given his aid to the accused.  An “ugly,” wound was a sign of guilt.

It was reported that smearing one’s hands with marshmallow sugar before the test would protect the skin and promote healing, and therefore innocence!

At last, in the nineteenth century, the marshmallow gave its name to a traditional confection based on egg whites, sugar, and arabic gum.  Today, the marshmallow root in this candy has been replaced by gelatin, which is cheaper and allows for industrial production.
Even if you don’t have a sweet tooth, the marshmallow is edible and is considered a wild vegetable.  The leaves can be cooked, the flowers added to salads, and the cooked roots can be eaten like salsify.

Traditional marshmallows

2 egg whites
25 g marshmallow root
510 g arabic gum
510 g sugar
1.25 L water
Cornstarch

Soak the roots in water for 8 hours in the refrigerator.
Bring them to boil for 10 minutes.
Filter.
Add the arabic gum to the hot water and stir until it dissolves.
Add the sugar to thicken the mixture, stirring constantly.
Whip the egg whites until they hold their shape and add them to the hot mixture.
Continue to stir on low heat.
Sprinkle a pan with cornstarch and pour the mixture in.
Let cool, and cut into pieces.

* Up to 20% in the flowers and even 30% in the roots

**This practice is the origin of the French saying “j’en mettrai ma main au feu,” “I would put my hand in fire,” used when someone is very sure that what they say is true.

Guimauve, Althaea officinalis L.
Guimauve, Althaea officinalis L.
Guimauve, Althaea officinalis L.
Our ecological efforts
39 698 KM
Cycling kilometers
Produced electricity
547 519 kwh
Consumed electricity

La guimauve

Althaea officinalis L.

Malvaceae

La guimauve est une plante vivace duveteuse qui peut atteindre 1,5 m et porte de nombreuses fleurs roses en été. A l’état naturel en France, elle se rencontre surtout sur la face atlantique, dans les formations de hautes herbes, souvent à proximité de la mer.
La guimauve appartient à la famille botanique des Malvaceae, dont le nom dérive du grec ancien malássô qui signifie ramollir, adoucir. Ceci est particulièrement judicieux pour la guimauve qui contient beaucoup de mucilages*, des composés qui forment au contact de l’eau un gel émollient, adoucissant et anti-inflammatoire.

Les vertus médicinales de la guimauve sont connues depuis l’antiquité, comme en témoigne son nom de genre Althaea, qui viendrait du grec althaïnô qui signifie « guérir ». Théophraste, philosophe et botaniste de la Grèce Antique, est parmi les premiers à citer la guimauve comme remède contre la toux, préparée en vin sucré. La fleur fait en effet partie des espèces dites « pectorales » (prescrites pour les problèmes pulmonaires) avec le coquelicot, la mauve, le pied de chat, le tussilage et la violette. Ce mélange est resté inscrit à la pharmacopée jusqu’en 1965.

Les mucilages de la guimauve lui confèrent également des vertus cicatrisantes et adoucissantes, mises à profit pour apaiser les estomacs irrités, soigner les blessures, les piqures ou soulager les démangeaisons.
La racine épluchée et séchée est ainsi traditionnellement utilisée pour soulager la poussée dentaire chez le nourrisson. Ce « hochet » de guimauve est donné à mordre pour favoriser la sortie des dents, les mucilages de la plante se transformant au contact de la salive en un gel apaisant.
Mais Il existait aussi au Moyen-Âge un usage détourné des propriétés de la guimauve … Une forme de jugement, appelé l’ordalie par le fer rouge ou ferrum candens, consistait pour l’accusé à marcher neuf pas en portant une barre de fer rougie au feu **.  La main était ensuite bandée dans un sac de cuir scellé par le juge. Pour savoir si l’accusé était coupable ou innocent, on ouvrait le sac trois jours plus tard et on regardait l’évolution de la plaie. Si la plaie était « belle », donc bien cicatrisée, cela prouvait l’innocence, Dieu ayant apporté son aide à l’accusé. Si la plaie était « vilaine », c’était un signe de culpabilité. Il est rapporté que s’enduire les mains de suc de guimauve avant l’épreuve permettait de protéger la peau et d’accélérer la cicatrisation. Et donc au final… d’être innocenté !

Enfin, la guimauve a donné son nom à une confiserie traditionnelle apparue au XIXème siècle, à base de blanc d’œuf, de sucre et de gomme arabique. Aujourd’hui, ce bonbon ne contient plus de racine de guimauve, remplacée par de la gélatine, moins chère et permettant une production industrielle.

Si vous n’êtes pas attirés par les sucreries, sachez que la guimauve est comestible et figure parmi les légumes sauvages. Les feuilles se consomment cuites, les fleurs peuvent s’ajouter aux salades et les racines cuites se consomment comme des salsifis.

Guimauves traditionnelles
2 blancs d’œufs
25 g racine de guimauve
510g gomme arabique
510g sucre en poudre
1.25L d’eau
Fécule de maïs

  1. Tremper les racines dans l’eau 8h au réfrigérateur.
  2. Amener à ébullition 10 min.
  3. Filtrer.
  4. Ajouter la gomme arabique dans le mélange chaud et mélanger jusqu’à dissolution complète.
  5. Ajouter le sucre et épaissir en remuant sans arrêt.
  6. Monter les blancs d’œufs en neige et incorporer au mélange chaud.
  7. Continuer d’épaissir à feu doux.
  8. Saupoudrer une plaque de fécule de maïs et couler le sirop.
  9. Refroidir et couper en morceaux.

*jusque 20% dans les fleurs et même 30 % dans la racine
** Cette pratique est à l’origine de l’expression : « j’en mettrai ma main au feu ».

Althaea officinalis L., la guimauve
Althaea officinalis L., la guimauve
Racine de guimauve
Notre effort écologique
39 698 KM
Kilomètres à vélo
électricité produite
547 519 kwh
électricité consommée